Listen, Think, Learn & Enjoy . . .
Home » Children » Year R

Year R

Indoor PE Tuesday morning
Outdoor Games Wednesday afternoon
PPA/COSMIC Thursday morning
Library Monday afternoon

EYFS – Early Years Foundation Stage – Heading

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage section


EYFS education at Warren Park aims

  • To give each child a happy, positive and fun start to their school life in which they can establish strong foundations and foster a love of learning
  • To inspire children in a stimulating environment to be happy and enthusiastic learners
  • To ensure quality and consistency in teaching and learning so that every child makes progress, ready for 21st century life
  • To develop strong partnerships between practitioners, parents, families and the local and wider community.
  • To ensure equality of opportunity for every child.

At Warren Park we adhere to The Statutory Framework for The Early Years Foundation Stage and the guiding principles that shape the EYFS curriculum

  • A unique child – every child is unique and is continually learning, is resilient and capable, is confident and self-assured
  • Positive relationships – children learn to be strong, secure and independent through positive relationships with peers, adults and the wider school community
  • Enabling environments – children learn and develop in an environment that is stimulating, with experiences that respond to their needs and interests
  • Learning and development – children learn and develop in different ways, are all included in their learning journey and develop strong foundations to be positive learners.

The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The prime areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

Here are some ideas to support your children before coming to our school and whilst they are in Reception.

Ready steady school (weblink)



What is Monster Phonics?

The 26 letters of the alphabet and combinations of these letters make 44 speech sounds in English. The 44 sounds (phonemes) are spelt by 144 different letter combinations (graphemes). For example, the sound A is spelt 5 different ways ay (play), ai (train). Traditional ways of learning to spell can be time-consuming and for some children they are ineffective. Monster Phonics categorises sounds into 10 areas and uses the Monsters as a categorisation. Each monster has a different colour. That colour represents that way of spelling the sound. Watch the video

So far this term we have learnt these sounds:

(s, a, p, t, I (i), n, m, o, d, g, o, c, k, ck, u, e, r)

We have also learnt these words:

a, at

in, is, it, I

on, am, up, was

he, she, me, we, the

mum, dad, and, went, to

Please keep practising the sounds they have learnt, build words with the sounds and have a go at writing the sounds and words they know.

Find the words they have learnt in the books they read. Play games with these words. (you say the word and they have to find it)

Go onto the website with your child play some games and most of all have fun learning their sounds and their words.

Login details

Monster Phonics is giving parents free access to resources. There are loads of fun videos for each of the sounds1 Here is a guide ( to help you get started!

Username: parents

Password: homelearning